Tags

, ,

Special thanks to Ms. Tiffany, whose great questions served as the impetus for this closet org series! As always, if you have a question or post suggestion, please don’t hesitate to contact me. Thanks! 🙂

Ikea Hangers: curved (top) & flat (bottom)

I’m a big fan of wood – rather than wire or plastic – clothes hangers; they fit any aesthetic, and quality ones will last for years and years. Plus, I think they give closets a boutique-y, I’ve-got-it-together feel, which is especially nice during those I-so-don’t-have it-together moments. I have a whole bunch of these Ikea ones ($3.99/8), curved and flat because I didn’t pay attention to the difference when I bought them. The flat ones don’t take up as much space, and the little indentions for hanging tops and dresses make them more versatile.

All that said, my closet has been getting a bit unruly lately – I don’t know what’s gotten into it – and I need more space. I thought about asking hubby (very nicely, of course) to move his things to the garage, but that wouldn’t be right…would it? Anyway, desperate times call for desperate measures, so I decided to swap my beloved wood hangers in the coat closet for slim, huggable-type ones* (pictured above) to see if the change made any difference.

BEFORE (side note: man, I need some color in here):

AFTER:

The space was jam-packed before, and the hanger swap out actually did create a bit more room! Not enough for me to get rid of all the wood hangers I already have (and really like), but hey, small victories 🙂

* These slim hangers are available in different forms and brands at Target, Bed Bath and Beyond, The Container Store, TJMaxx, etc. I got mine at Nordstrom Rack. The pricepoints didn’t vary much (roughly $0.60 to $1 each), but from what I saw while shopping around, the quality varied dramatically. A couple tips if you’re in the market for hangers like these:

  • Pull and twist the metal hanger head to make sure it’s assembled properly. I noticed some would break apart right away.
  • Bend the hanger body slightly to make sure it’s not too thin. Some give is expected, but it’s not cool if the thing breaks apart under the weight of a button down.
