Tags

, , ,

While these mini cornbread muffins are one of my cookout staples, they’re just as at home next to an everyday dinner. I also like them as a quick snack, slathered with almond butter or drizzled with honey…Hmmm…I need to make another batch ASAP 🙂

Be warned, though. They’re so small and yummy that it’s easy to loose track of how many you’ve eaten. Case in point: I made some of these muffins for a dinner party, and every time I walked by the cooling rack, I’d pop one into my mouth. By the time my guests arrived for dinner, there were only enough left for each person to have one tiny little muffin. It literally looked crazy sitting on the bread plate.

You might also like:

Ingredients: (makes about 24 mini muffins)

  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 5 tablespoons cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • Extra virgin olive oil (EVOO) for pan

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Oil muffin tin very liberally with EVOO. Don’t be stingy here; this is what ensures the brown, slightly crispy outsides.
  • In a medium bowl, combine first 5 ingredients.
  • Add chunks of butter, and stir in milk until the mixture thickens a bit.
  • Use a tablespoon – or a spouted measuring cup, if you have a steady hand – to pour batter into muffin tin, being careful not to overfill.

  • Bake until muffins are golden, approximately 20-25 minutes.
  • Let pan cool for a few minutes, then remove* muffins and allow them to cool completely on a rack. (Muffins can turn soggy if cooled in pan.)
*I use a small spoon to pop them out.

 

Mug: Anthropologie/ Saucer: Crate and Barrel

You might also like:
