Tags

, , ,

BEFORE:

Shirt: Gap Men’s (this one is almost identical)/ Shoes: Nordstrom (similar herehere)/ Sunglasses: Ray-Ban

I’ve wanted a chambray shirtdress for the longest, but none of the ones I  found fit my “not too” list: not too long; not too detailed, but not exactly plain either; not too loose; not too expensive. Recently, however, I stumbled upon a very viable option on…wait for it…my hubby’s side of the closet. If nothing else, the price was definitely right 🙂

You might also like:

    

AFTER:

I think the key to pulling off this look (in addition to maybe wearing some boyshorts underneath), is effortlessness. A really high heel, “done” hair, or a ton of accessories would feel too contrived…the last thing I’d want when wearing a men’s shirt as a dress. Well that, and a big old gust of wind (see “boyshorts” above). 

Belting the shirt higher on the waist makes it appear a little bit longer and more dress-like.

To make the shirt appear more fitted, I just pulled the excess fabric to the back to create a kind of pleated effect.

You might also like:

    

