Tags

, , ,

I recently started drinking chai again (after a seriously mildly addictive stint of Starbucks chai lattes when I was in grad school), so when I came across a recipe for homemade masala chai in the May issue of InStyle magazine, I knew I absolutely had to try it. I also knew I absolutely had to have a cookie with it 🙂 Click through for full recipe details.

I used these ingredients – substituting ground ginger for fresh – to make Homemade Masala Chai detailed in the recipe below.

Recipe/photo: Courtesy of InStyle Magazine, May 2012 issue

I also love Tazo Organic Chai with a little milk and honey added. That reminds me: I need to pick up the decaf version so I can have a cup (or two) before bed.

On to the cookies!

This recipe is an adaptation of this oatmeal raisin cookie recipe from Martha Stewart. (singing “My Way” in my head, either Sinatra or Usher, whatever works for you :-))

Ingredients: (makes about 18 huge, thin cookies)

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter (12 tablespoons), melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup almonds, finely chopped

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • In one bowl, stir together oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.
  • Stir sugars together in another bowl.

  • Add melted butter to the bowl with the sugars, and blend with a hand mixer.
  • Blend in egg and vanilla.

  • Add half of oat mixture, and stir with a spoon.
  • Stir in remaining oat mixture and chopped almonds.

  • Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • Use a heaping tablespoon to drop dough onto baking sheet, leaving ample room between each dough ball (about 6/sheet).

  • Bake cookies for 6 minutes.
  • Rotate pan, and cook for about 5 minutes more.

  • Use a spatula to remove warm cookies, and place over champagne glasses to shape…

  • …Or cool flat on a wire rack.

Relaaaaax and enjoy!

You might also like:

