Tags

,

When I was in college, I went to a hairstylist named Thomas who used to say – ad nauseum, actually – that while he didn’t do a lot of the styles that were popular at the time, he knew “how to keep your hair on your head.” Now that I think about it, I guess “hairSTYLIST” is a bit of a misnomer for him, then. Maybe haircareologist? Practitioner of healthy hair science? Dr. Keep-it-on-yo-head?

Anyhoo, the point of this little journey back in tha day is that that was when I started understanding how to maintain healthy hair from an exterior perspective (i.e. product and styling do’s and don’ts). A few years and about a billion biology and public health classes later, I felt like I had a good grasp on the interior piece (i.e. nutrition, exercise, overall healthy lifestyle). Fast forward a few more years to the present, and uhmmm: not quite so much. I still eat pretty well, but for the past several months, I’ve honestly been in a rut of not taking the time out to take care of myself on a daily basis as I know I should. And we all know that knowing is only half the battle. (Thanks so much, Joe! *rolls eyes*)

Now that I’ve got the first 50% down, I think it’s time to bump up the other half: the DOING. This sentiment was reinforced yesterday when my hair trim was quickly upgraded to a hair cut in order to get my hair into a good place to begin to get my healthy groove back.

They say “happy wife = happy life” (and I agree wholeheartedly :-)); I’m calling this one my HLHH (healthy lifestyle = healthy hair) Challenge.

The (very) Simple Plan: Start with a few specific healthy lifestyle and haircare goals, and add a new one or two each week or so.

These 3 are first up on deck:

  • Wrap hair in a scarf at night, or at least sleep on a satin pillowcase. I know, I know: trifling, right? Actually, just trife; at this point, I have to aspire to the “-ling.”
  • Drink at least 64oz of water with lemon each day.
  • Take a multivitamin every day. I’m decent with this one, but there’s definitely room for improvement.

Are you working on any lifestyle improvements? Have any goals or tips to share? Let me know in the comments section 🙂

You might also like:

