Tags

, , , ,

Dress: Armani Exchange/ Belt: Gap (similar)/ Shoes: Mark Fisher (try these or these)/ Sunnies: Ray-Ban

COLOR! is everywhere this season, and while I’m not exactly color-phobic, I do love my neutrals…and it’s hard to get more neutral that black and white 🙂 I love how this simple, basic color palette can look classic and modern, sophisticated and edgy, all at the same time. So, inspired by a collage in my dog-eared, well-perused May issue of InStyle (pictured after the jump), I decided that my outfits this week would be composed mainly of bright red and lilac. Just kidding: It’s Black & White week!

Photo courtesy of InStyle Magazine (May 2012 issue)

True story: The last time I wore these shoes was with this outfit. After enjoying brunch at 4th & Swift with a friend, I stopped by The Container Store to pick up this scarf organizer. There was a random family chilling in the aisle. (That should have been my first clue: They had pulled up some chairs and were hanging out like they were at home.) As I walked by, the guy whom I’m guessing is the “dad” says, “I love your shoes” with such feeling that I just knew he was joking. I mean, it was a Sunday, and he had that clean-cut CEO fresh-from-church look about him. I was about to joke back, “They’d look great on you,” when I suddenly realized he was serious! The “wife” says, “Really?!” in a clear oh-@#!%-no-you-didn’t tone of voice. Then, the “daughter” tries to diffuse the situation by saying, “Oh, yeah. Those are really cute shoes!” Meanwhile, I’m about to break out into a sprint to the register because I’m not opposed to running in heels should the situation dictate.

The pockets are what really sold me on this dress.

You might also like:

