Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Printed Cropped Pants: J Crew (I also love these, which are slightly less expensive.)

Cropped pants are one of the best examples of wear-now-AND-later, seasonless clothing. A well-fitting pair of flat front, ankle length pants with a slight sheen to the fabric is a timeless basic that can be dressed down with a tee, tank, or cuffed button down (tucked or un-), or dressed up with a blazer or jazzy top. Adding allover pattern to the classic changes the game to something more – I can’t stand the word “whimsical,” but it would be apropos. I’m not using it, though – let’s say cool and interesting 🙂

Click through to see some options!

You might also like:

  

Gap

These pants are the ones that sparked the idea for this post: I just love, love this navy print! I can see it paired with brights like kelly green, hot pink, orange, or yellow and with classic neutrals like heather gray and white. Fab print aside, these slim crops are quite fitted through the hip and thigh, and the fabric is a bit thinner than that of the J Crew cafe capris in the first pic. (The price is also significantly different, so I guess it all works out :-))

Did I mention I just love, love this navy print? It makes me feel the same way I did when I saw this pattern earlier this year.

Banana Republic (on sale in-store for $30)

Of all the crops I tried on, this straight leg pair fit the loosest through the thigh area – making them the most comfy right off the bat – and hit the highest on the ankle. They’re also the only cotton-polyester-spandex blend listed, the rest being just cotton or cotton and spandex. The khaki color and classic pinstripe pattern pair well with just about everything.

Banana Republic

All things considered, these crops are one of my very favorites. I love the fitted silhouette, and the tapered, cuffed leg is everything. Also, the pattern is so subtle that it reads more as texture than in-your-face print, making these pants a more versatile wardrobe choice than some of the others.

The Limited

For the more adventurous, these Drew fit cuffed ankle pants are available in two non-trad prints (pictured below): a pink/taupe floral and a kind-of 80’s inspired – at least to my eye – abstract print. Although I really like the fitted-but-not-tight cut of these pants, the slightly boot fit* cuffed leg is not my favorite.

*The wider leg opening might not be an issue for those with less toothpick-like ankles. I’m not complainin’, I’m just sayin’.

The Limited

Check out these other PERSONAL SHOPPER posts:

Denim Jacket

What to Wear with Leopard Print Pants

You might also like:

  

