Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Shirt and Jeans (on sale): J Crew/ Printed top: Tracy Reese via Labels/ Skimmers: Madewell (also HERE, HERE, and HERE)/ Sunnies: Ray-Ban

I wore this outfit on a shopping trip with a friend, hence the “Significant Other Holding Area” – you know, those comfy seats outside the women’s fitting room, where husbands and boyfriends play work on their iPhones while the beautiful women in their lives try on clothes – background.

Special thanks to Ms. S for snapping these pics 🙂

As soon as I saw this pleated, blouse-y printed top, I knew it was coming home with me. I also knew that it wasn’t exactly my style, but when I added an oxford shirt underneath, all was right with the world. Well, not the world – there’s always some foolishness going on somewhere that even a proper button-down won’t fix – but you know what I mean.

Side note: These high-waist skinnies are seriously one of my best purchases! I very reluctantly tried them on after the salesperson, who had great style herself, thus – yes, I said “thus” again – giving her instant credibility, assured and reassured me that they are not mom jeans (read more about that in THIS POST). I’m so glad I tried something outside my norm because these are my go-to, wear-with-any-and-everything jeans. As evidence, I submit for your perusal Exhibits A-D, also known as these 4 previous posts: 1, 2, 3, 4.

You might also like:

    

The big bow on the bottom is what really sold it…

…and I love that the back has a contrasting print. It’s built-in print mixing!

Have you ever tried something outside your normal style and loved the results? Do share!

You might also like:

    

