Tags

, , , , , ,

A friend and her daughter are attending an afternoon tea party at the St. Regis Hotel (*squeal) this winter, and she asked me for some ideas as to what to wear (*more squeals). Right after I added “afternoon tea at the St. Regis” to my own list of things to do this winter, I got to work 🙂

Zara

My friend expressed an interest in a peplum silhouette, and I think that’s a great choice, as the shape adds a touch of formality, and it’s both classic and of-the-moment. I love Zara’s winter white twist on the style, reading as more of a frill than a full peplum.

You might also like:

ORGANIZED PACKING (AND UNPACKING)

PERSONAL SHOPPER: PRINTED CROP PANTS

PERSONAL SHOPPER: DENIM JACKET

French Connection via Bloomingdale’s

This cobalt blue version would be a more colorful, but equally sophisticated option.

Armani Exchange offers a well-priced peplum dress with an exposed back zipper (you know how I feel about an exposed back zipper) in a gorgeous navy; however, the way the zipper interrupts the built-in belt – not to mention the fact that there is a built-in belt – drives me a bit insane.

J Crew

Ok, hear me out on this one: This dress is technically in the wear-to-work section, BUT the cut, color, and pleating detail really elevate this to a more elegant piece. Just imagine it layered with pearls (the tea party standard) or an instant heirloom statement necklace like this one or this one.

Now for the extras (this tea party business is serious)! Stay tuned for Part Deux 🙂

You might also like:

ORGANIZED PACKING (AND UNPACKING)

PERSONAL SHOPPER: PRINTED CROP PANTS

PERSONAL SHOPPER: DENIM JACKET

