Tags

, , , ,

Remember THIS POST where we 1.) learned that my lucky friend is going to tea at the St. Regis (squealing was and still is involved), and 2.) saw some elegant but still modern, versatile, and wearable dress options? Well, here’s Part Deux: accessories! As I’d mentioned before, this tea party business is serious… and while every serious venture has a dress code of sorts, we can definitely tweak it a bit 🙂

Photo courtesy of http://www.jcrew.com

Pearls are the traditional go-to for ladies-who-tea, and this multi-strand version from J Crew offers a more interesting take on the basic. If pearls are not really your thing – i.e. the tea party will be a one-and-done wear – you might consider borrowing a pearl necklace from a relative/friend or going for a much less expensive option from a store like Claire’s or Forever 21.

                     

Photos courtesy of http://www.anthropologie.com

For a more nontraditional route, Anthropologie does statement necklaces right! I think something like this one would be amazing, but the price is up there. The two options above – 1* and 2 – are event-appropriate, yet versatile enough to wear with other things. They also provide enough interest to liven up even the most basic tee (visual aid).

*Between the time I uploaded this picture and the time I wrote this post, Anthropologie removed this item from their website. It might be oversold or an oversight, but it should be available in store. I’d be willing to try to hunt it down if need be 🙂

Photo courtesy of http://www.nordstrom.com

Typically, wide-brim Kentucky Derby-type hats are standard tea fare. I’m going to be really honest here: I had serious trouble finding one that I could stand behind and that didn’t cost a fortune. So, I humbly offer this alternative: the large flower fascinator! It’s a little royal wedding, and while it nods towards tradition, it keeps it current. I kind of love it 🙂 Click here for other options.

Other details:

  • While these long lambskin gloves are 100% fabulous, they might not be the best choice for a formal tea; from what I’ve read, the most tea-approbriate gloves are wrist-length, and made of satin, net, or crochet. Find a ton of affordable options here.
  • I’m not sure if this tradition is strictly followed, but I read something that said closed-toe shoes should be worn to tea.

I hope this helps! Please let me know 🙂

Do you have any things you need shopped or any questions or dilemmas you’d like addressed (within the scope of the blog, of course)? Definitely let me know in the comments section, or send me an email! 

